Dunmore East Light

"Dunmore East, Co Waterford, Ireland"


Built: 1825
Automated: 1922

This light is located on the Waterford shore on the pier-head directly across the entrance to Waterford Harbour from the Hook Head tower. Its fluted Doric column and cast-iron lattice balcony make it unique among Irish lighthouses. It used oil lamps until 1922 when it was converted to acetylene. In 1964 it was converted to electricity.



Navigational Options
Return to Twenty-second Lighthouse Expedition
Go to Alphabetical Listing
Go to Geographical Listing
Return to Lighthouse Home Page

Lighthouses: A Photographic Journey
Conceived and Developed by David S. Carter
Photographs by Donald W. Carter
Text by Diana K. Carter, Donald W. Carter & David S. Carter

Copyright © 1995-2006 David S. Carter, Donald W. Carter, & Diana K. Carter. All rights reserved. Reproduction by any means, physical or electronic, in part or in full, without the express permission of the authors, is strictly prohibited.