Lee Hester on Native American Authors

Native American Authors

Lee Hester


Hester is a member of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma. He has served on the board of the Oklahoma Choctaw Tribal Alliance and has been elected more than once to the national caucus of the Wordcraft Circle of Native Writers and Storytellers. He is a member of the Native Writers Circle of the Americas, as well as one of the founding members of the Oklahoma Association for Health Care Ethics.

Heseter holds a PhD in Philosophy and has taught philosophy and Native American law in both Canada and the US. He is the founding editor (along with Dennis McPherson) of Ayaangwaamizin: The International Journal of Indigenous Philosophy and is currently the Director of American Indian Studies at the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma.

His articles have been published in numerous journals and anthologies such as The Blackwell Anthology of Native American Philosophy, Social Epistemology, Strategies: Journal of Theory, Culture and Politics, and the Encyclopedia of
North American Indians.

Awards and Honors

1973, Presidential Award of Excellence for Environmental Protection Services (from President Nixon)
2003, Writer of the Year in critical analysis (for Political Principles and Indian Sovereignty)


Online resources by or about Lee Hester:

Lee Hester
Author: Lee Hester
Type: authorbio
Description: Hester’s resume: includes academic and work experience, awards, offices held, and publications.

URL: http://www.usao.edu/indianstudies/hestervita.htm

Return to Native American Authors Home