Five Stages Of Dementia

1748 Words7 Pages
1- Geriatrics
Geriatric is a specialized branch that is focused on the healthcare needs of the elderly people. The elderly people are likely to have several health problems and have special health care needs which make their medical care much more consistent and complex. Usually, people at the age of 65 or older have 2 or more medical problems, for instance, hypothyroidism, diabetes, heart disease, arthritis, neuropathy, high blood pressure, Parkinsonism, or Alzheimer’s disease.
Taking care of the elderly people with multiple and complicated health problems is quite tricky even for the healthcare professionals who specialize in GERIATRICS.
For instance, while prescribing medication for an elder patient with multiple
…show more content…
To make an accurate diagnosis of dementia in the early stages can be difficult. For identifying that one is suffering from dementia several visits with a doctor may be needed. The dementia symptoms usually interfere with the daily life activities. Moreover, the symptoms also affect more than one type of brain functions that includes communication, memory, language or judgment.
Below are listed the five stages of Dementia that illustrate the patient’s ability to perform in six different areas of functioning and cognition: orientation, personal care, memory, home and hobbies, judgment, and community.
Stage 1
In the initial stage, the person represents no deficit in their abilities. No significant impairments and memories problems are acknowledged, people are fully oriented in place and time, have normal judgment, no behavioral problem, have a managed life, and are able to take care of their personal needs in an absolute manner.
Stage 2
In this stage, people may have very mild memory inconsistencies. People might struggle to resolve and complete challenging problems and have difficulty with timing. It is possible that they may be slipping at work or when involved in social activities. However, at this stage, people can still manage to take care of themselves without any
…show more content…
The symptoms may include chronic pain, depression, shortness of breath, constipation, fatigue, and nausea, loss of appetite, chronic anxiety, difficulty sleeping, and requiring assistance with activities and perform independent activities of daily life and much

More about Five Stages Of Dementia

Open Document