Buddha's Teaching: The Four Noble Truths In Buddhism

2473 Words10 Pages
The Four Noble Truths


All schools of Buddhism emphasize the four noble truths, as it is the basic knowledge of Buddha 's teaching. Buddha used four noble truths as the topic in his first teaching in a deep park after his enlightenment. I am interested in escaping from the pain of suffering, as it is the question everyone will ask. The four noble truths contain the philosophy towards life by Buddha at the foot of the Bodhi tree, and it suggests people the analysis of life and gives solutions to the difficulties in life. The four noble truths are ‘life is suffering’, ‘cause of suffering’, ‘cessation of causes of suffering’ and ‘path to the cessation of causes of suffering’.

First Noble Truth – Life is suffering
“This, monks, is the noble truth that is suffering. Birth is suffering; old age is suffering; illness is suffering; death is suffering; sorrow and grief, physical and mental suffering, and disturbance are suffering. Association with things not liked is suffering, separation from desired things is suffering; not getting what one wants is suffering; in short, the five aggregates of grasping are suffering.” ( Thanissaro Bhikkhu, 1993).
The first noble truth is Life is suffering. Buddhism believes that birth, old age, illness and death are suffering, and people must meet those stages throughout their life. There are two major suffering, one is physical sufferings and the others is psychological suffering.

Physical suffering:
Sickness, injury, tiredness,

More about Buddha's Teaching: The Four Noble Truths In Buddhism

Open Document