Components Of Piaget's Cognitive Theory

981 Words4 Pages
What are the principles, axioms or laws that apply?
The goal of the theory is to explain the mechanisms and processes by which the infant, and then the child, develops into an individual who can reason and think using hypotheses. To Piaget, cognitive development was a progressive reorganization of mental processes as a result of biological maturation and environmental experience. Children construct an understanding of the world around them, then experience discrepancies between what they already know and what they discover in their environment. There Are Three Basic Components To Piaget 's Cognitive Theory:
1. Schemas (building blocks of knowledge). 2. Adaptation processes that enable the transition from one stage to another (equilibrium, assimilation and accommodation).
3. Stages of Development: sensorimotor, preoperational, concrete operational, formal operational.
What definitions of basic concepts offer?
Piaget (1936) was the first psychologist to make a systematic study of cognitive development. His contributions include a theory of child cognitive development, detailed observational studies of cognition in children, and a series of simple but ingenious tests to reveal different cognitive abilities.
Who invented or discovered the theory? (Names, dates)
Jean Piaget (1896 - 1980) was employed at the Binet Institute in the 1920s, where his job was to develop French versions of questions on English intelligence tests.
Piaget (1936) described his work as genetic
Open Document