DSM-5 Diagnostic Criteria

990 Words4 Pages
Diagnostic Criteria
DSM-5 criteria (ADHD)
The 5th edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) included a vast majority of personnel working towards an aim for a period of over 12 years. A lot of thought was put in and discussions took place when assessing the diagnostic criteria, with the creation of new features believed to be very useful to clinicians. The main aim of DSM-5 is to help qualified clinicians diagnose patients with mental disorders, leading to a complete treatment plan for each patient (32).
ADHD individuals express a continuous pattern of inattention and/or hyperactivity-impulsivity which seem to interfere with functioning or development (33).
Inattention: Six or more symptoms of inattention for
…show more content…
• Before the age of 12 various inattentive or hyperactive-impulsive symptoms must be present.
• The presence of several symptoms in two or more settings (for example at school, home).
• Substantial evidence of symptoms interfering or reducing quality of school, social life or functioning at work.
• The symptoms aren’t due to other mental disorders.
Three types of ADHD can occur:
1. Combined presentation: Sufficient inattention and hyperactivity-impulsivity symptoms being present for the last six months.
2. Predominantly Inattentive Presentation: Sufficient inattention without hyperactivity-impulsivity symptoms being present for the last six months.
3. Predominantly Hyperactive-Impulsive Presentation: Sufficient hyperactivity-impulsivity without inattention symptoms being present for the last six months.
Due to the possibility of symptoms changing in time, changes may be seen with the presentation too (33).
DSM-5 Changes
There were some changes in the DSM-5 for the diagnosis of ADHD:
• By the age of 12 symptoms may occur now rather than by 6 years of age.
• Numerous symptoms now need to be present in more than one
…show more content…
• The ICD-10 classification system defines HKD as a persistent and severe impairment of psychological development, categorized by early onset, with a combination of overactive, controlling behaviour is poor with clear signs of inattention and lacking persistent task involvement, pervasiveness, over situations and persistence over time of these behavioural characteristics.
• Classic problems stated by ICD-10 are displaying a lack of perseverance, completing an activity is a challenge and seem to move from one activity to another, disorganized and in early development activity that is excessive seem to constantly arise, generally continuous throughout school years and may continue through adulthood.
• Diagnosis of Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, ICD-10 requires evidence of both inattention that is impaired and hyperactivity in more than one setting for example at home, school. Differences in perseverance and attention should have the diagnosis only if regarded extreme related to the child's IQ level and age, hyperactivity should be well-thought-out in the context of what is expected in certain scenarios and by comparing children of the same age and IQ

More about DSM-5 Diagnostic Criteria

Open Document