Dhammapada 4 Noble Truths

1297 Words6 Pages
The opening line of the famous Buddhist teaching of Dhammapada has most often been translated in English as: “Experiences are preceded by mind, led by mind, and produced by mind.’ Discuss how this quote reveals some of the key features of the Buddhist conception of mind.
In order for one to completely comprehend this quote from the buddha in the teaching of Dhammapada one has to understand the meaning of what Dhammapada truly is, Dhammapada means the eternal truth. Dhammapada is an ancient Buddhist scripture that was traditionally accredited to the buddha. This quote from the Dhammapada reveals the key features of the Buddhist conception of mind such that one is responsible for our own reality and experiences to see reality how it is truly
…show more content…
The first stage of enlightening oneself and Opening one’s mind in order to lead your experiences with optimism in regard to the eightfold path is obtaining right view which is seeing reality for what it is truly presented to you which includes the four noble truths. The four noble truths are the truth of suffering (Dukkha), the truth of the origin of suffering (Samudāya), the truth of the cessation of suffering (Nirodha) and the truth of the path to the cessation of suffering. The essence of the first noble truth dukkha is to accept that in one’s life it is inevitable that we will face suffering. The second noble truth samudaya is for oneself tor realise where this suffering derives from and that the are three main reasons behind this suffering according to the buddha is Greed and desire, represented in art by a rooster, Ignorance or delusion, represented by a pig, Hatred and destructive urges, represented by a snake. The third noble truth that the buddha created is Nirodha in which this noble truth the buddha proclaims in order to liberate one’s mind, to achieve and sustain a peaceful mind one must liberates oneself from these attachments to these desires. The final noble truth the buddha shares with us is prescription for the end of suffering. This…show more content…
The eightfold path is a set of eight principles which according to the buddha achieve this, the Eightfold Path is often divided into the three categories of wisdom, ethical conduct and mental cultivation. The first set of the eightfold path under Wisdom includes the first two steps right understanding and intention. This essentially means to free oneself of a pessimist and negative emotional nature. Ethical Conduct include right speech, action and livelihood. Here, the buddha wishes for one not to be materialistic, to live in a non-harmful way, having a skilled mental state while also training one’s mind to be InControl of your emotional and mental

More about Dhammapada 4 Noble Truths

Open Document