The Seven Deadly Sins

958 Words4 Pages
The Seven Deadly Sins

“A proud look, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, A heart that devises wicked plans, feet that are swift in running to evil, A false witness who speaks lies, and one who sows discord among brethren.” (Proverbs 6:16-19). Over the years, many people have fallen into one(or more) of seven transgressions that are catastrophic to our spiritual progression. Overall, they destroy are ability to act as civilized humans and put are long term goals to shame. They have the ability to make us be discouraged and overall can make us become people who have no self-control or self-awareness. The transgressions that I am referring to are Sloth, Lust, Anger, Pride, Envy, Greed, and Gluttony or “SLAP EGG” for short. These seven, that I have just mentioned to you, are considered to be some of the worst sins to commit in the eyes of God. They are called The Seven Deadly Sins.

Starting off, the sin of sloth is an excessive laziness or the failure to act and utilize one’s talents. It can be very easy to just say “I’ll get my homework done tomorrow” knowing that it’s due the day after. This attitude can lower
…show more content…
The poem tells how to cure the seven deadly sins from our lives. They are Kindness(cures envy), Temperance(cures gluttony), Charity(cures greed), Chastity(cures lust), Humility(cures pride), Diligence(cures slothfulness), and Patience(cures wrath). These virtues have helped many of us overcome these sins. These virtues have helped people become nicer, more intelligent, and have helped them learn skills that they didn’t know they already had. A quote by John Steinbeck says: “We value virtue, but do not discuss it. The honest bookkeeper, the faithful wife, the earnest scholar gets little of our attention compared to the embezzler, the tramp, the
Open Document