Explain The Five Stages Of My Career In Nursing

514 Words3 Pages
Stages of My Career
Katelyn Reed
Columbus State University
NURS 4192
Spring, 2016

The Stages of My Career in Nursing
Benner’s Stages It takes time and experience to become an expert nurse. According to Patricia Benner, there are five stages that a nurse must go through to be considered an expert nurse. During a nurse’s first year in the workforce, she is considered a novice nurse (1984). At 1-2 years, she is known as an advanced beginner. During this stage, the new nurse begins to see recurring aspects of health care and pieces different parts together, but she may have difficulty still prioritizing what is most critical. A competent nurse is considered to be in the workforce for 2-3 years. An expert nurse is one that has been in their

More about Explain The Five Stages Of My Career In Nursing

Open Document