Four Elements Of Tort Liability Law

1114 Words5 Pages
Under the tort liability law, also known as "the law of negligence", a person is considered liable for committing a tort, if they have failed to satisfy the standard of care - a standard determined by the behavior of a reasonably prudent individual.
The tortfeasor 's actions are measured against the actions of a reasonably prudent person, and they are found to be below-standard, the individual is guilty of negligence.

The tort liability law applies mainly to unintentional torts. In the case of intentional torts and strict liability torts, the defendant is found guilty regardless of negligence. If a wrongful act is done deliberately, the possibility of negligence is ruled out automatically. In strict/absolute liability, the person responsible for causing harm is found guilty of wrongdoing, regardless of whether they are negligent or not.

Characteristics of Tort Claims
In order for a victim of a tort to file a legal claim in tort and receive compensation for their injuries or property damage, the following four elements of negligence must be satisfied:
1.There must be a duty imposed by law for the protection of other individuals against harm. Without the existence of this legal duty of care, the plaintiff cannot collect damages.
2.Another requirement that has to be met in tort claims is the breach of the duty of care. If the tortfeasor falls short of meeting the standard of the legal duty of care for others, whether by wrongdoing, or by failure to act, then the 'breach of

More about Four Elements Of Tort Liability Law

Open Document