How Did The Confederate Seceded

Good Essays
The Confederate States of America consisted of eleven states in the south. Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Texas were the seven states that first seceded. The last four to secede were Arkansas, North Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. The Confederates fought against the Union during the Civil War in the years 1861-1865. The Confederacy fought for slavery and states’ rights. During the war, the South faced poverty and struggled to gain support from foreign countries. The Confederacy was also known for being the rebels. The Confederates seceded because they wanted to hold on to slavery, states’ rights, and political liberty for whites. They thought that the election of Abraham Lincoln threatened their way of living based on slavery. The Confederate’s president was Jefferson Davis, who was from Mississippi. Davis’ intentions were to peacefully secede, but the United States as a whole would not let that happen. Once war had officially begun, the Confederacy was off to a pretty good start being led by General Robert E. Lee from Virginia. Lee and his troops earned big victories within the first two years of the war. They…show more content…
This caused an outbreak between the North and the South that caused the American Civil War. During the war, the Confederacy struggled with maintaining resources and avoiding poverty. The Confederates also failed to win Britain or France over to help provide during their most desperate times. The South crumbled apart and the Union was victorious, putting an end to the Confederate States of America. I chose to make The Confederate States of America my topic because I live in the South and I figured this was and still is a very important part of our history. This affects everyone today because if the Union had not won, slavery could still be in effect, and the Federal Government would have less
Get Access