Mahars In India

880 Words4 Pages
The Maharashtra state is situated in India, and the India is unity of all states. The word ‘India’ is explained in constitution of India in first article that, ‘India that is a Bharat’.1
The word ‘Maharashtra’ has derived from Maharattha. Next philosophy is ‘The Mahars have often been considered as the original inhabitants of what is now the Indian state of Maharashtra and, according to Shridhar Venkatesh Ketkar, a historian of the region, the state's name derives from theirs (Maharance ra••ra means land of the Mahars)’.2
As per the statement of Jyotiba Phule in his book Gulamgiri, ‘Mahars were great warriors and against to Brahmin; they are Mahaari so the name Maharashtra has come from Mahar-ari’. 3
“ Now Maharashtra may mean the country of
…show more content…
Painting from the Ajanta Caves in the suburb of Aurangabad, created in the sixth century is the world famous. The Nasik Gazetteer states that in 246 BC Maharashtra is mentioned as one of the places to which Mauryan emperor Ashoka sent an embassy; Maharashtra is recorded in a Chalukyan inscription as have three provinces and 99,000 villages. The description of Maharashtra is recorded by Chinese traveler, Hiuen-Tsang. The name of Maharashtra also appeared in the 7th century. In 90 AD Vedishri, son of the Satavahana king, Satakarni, the "Lord of Dakshinapatha, wielder of the unchecked wheel of Sovereignty", made Junnar, thirty miles north of Pune, the capital of his kingdom.The land of Maharashtra was also ruled by Kharavela, Western Satraps, Gupta Empire, Gurjara-Pratihara, Vakataka, Kadambas, Chalukya Empire, Rashtrakuta Dynasty, and Western Chalukya before Yadava rule In the early 14th century the Yadava dynasty, which ruled most of present-day Maharashtra, was overthrown by the Delhi Sultanate ruler, Ala-ud-din Khilji. Then Muhammad bin Tughluq occupied some parts of the Deccan, and he shifted capital from Delhi to Daulatabad in Maharashtra. He ruled this region up to 1347, later the local Bahmani Sultanate of Gulbarga took over this region under his control for next 150 years. Bahmani Sultanate was ended. And the religion of Bahamani Sultanate was run up to 1518. Later Land of Maharashtra was divided into some regions that were Nizamshah of Ahmednagar, Adilshah of Bijapur, Qutubshah of Golkonda, Bidarshah of Bidar and Imadshah of Berar. Thay were known as five Deccan Sultananets. They often fought amongst each other and they decisively defeated the Vijayanagara Empire of the south in 1565. Even the present area of Mumbai was ruled by Sultanate of Gujarat before it was captured by Portugal in 1535 and Faruqidynasty ruled Khandesh region between 1382 and 1601 before

More about Mahars In India

Open Document