Malaysia And Thailand: The Anglo-Siamese Treaty Of 1909

1373 Words6 Pages
Malaysia is a multiracial country and mainly composed by the three main ethnic group which are Malay, Chinese, Indian. In addition, Malaysia also practice the culture of other countries due to the various religions. One of the countries that Malaysia had practiced is Thailand. Before the Anglo-Siamese Treaty of 1909, there are four states of Malaysia under the control of Thailand which are Perlis, Kedah, Perak and Kelantan. The Anglo-Siam Treaty of 1909, also known as Bangkok Treaty of 1909 is an agreement between United Kingdom and Thailand in 1909. Through the Treaty of Bangkok, Thailand hand iver the four states for under the reign of United Kingdom.This agreement was signed at the Royal Palace of Thailand in Bangkok on 10 March 1909. But this agreement was approved on 9 July 1909. During that time, many Thai people lived in those four states. So, we called them “Malaysian Siamese” and also treated them as indigenous (bumiputera) , they have the same level as the Malays. At that time, Thailand 's culture, such as Thailand festival, was slowly introduced into Malaysia. In addition, there are some major factors that lead to the integration of Thailand festivals into Malaysian culture.
The Malaysia-Thailand border is the international border that separates Malaysia and Thailand. This boundary was formed in 1909, following the Anglo-Siamese Treaty of 1909. There are four States bordering with Thailand. From West to East, they are Perlis, Kedah, Perak and

More about Malaysia And Thailand: The Anglo-Siamese Treaty Of 1909

Open Document