Reasons For The Acts To The 13 Colonies In The 1770-1790

520 Words3 Pages
In the time 1770- 1790, the American colonies were being taxed on items like stamps, tea, and sugar by Great Britain so they can pay off their debts from the 7 year war. These increase of taxes were called acts, and we will be going into more detail about this soon. Great Britain politically involved with the colonies and gave them outrageous taxes for for reasons. At the time Great Britain has just got done with a war with France. So they needed a way to pay off all the debt from war that is why they sailed to what we call the 13 colonies. Since they had lots off debt that's why they introduce the Acts to the 13 colonies. So that is why they tax the 13 colonies so much. Acts and why tax, the declaratory act is putting laws together. Currency act of 1764 made paper money and applied it to New England colonies the currency act also applied to to all British colonies in America. Currency actor of 1751 added bills and credits to New England. 1774 intolerable act is just restoring colonies. 1773 the Tea act was to benefit the East Indies, 1733 they allowed to smuggle and allowed them to to trades with other colonies. 1765 the Stamp Act put taxes on stamps and mailing items. The Declaration and constitution were made for the…show more content…
“In fact, independence was formally declared on July 2, 1776, a date that John Adams believed would be “the most memorable epocha in the history of America.” On July 4, 1776, Congress approved the final text of the Declaration. It wasn't signed until August 2, 1776.” The reason why the Declaration of Independence was written was to gain independence from Britain. While the constitution was written September 17, 1787 during the Philadelphia convention. This document was written so the people could have certain rights like freedom of speech or bearing
Open Document