Anglo Saxon Kingdoms

935 Words4 Pages
The Anglo-Saxons were the members of Germanic-speaking groups who migrated to the southern half of the island from continental Europe, and their cultural descendants. Anglo-Saxon history thus begins during the period of Sub-Roman Britain following the end of Roman control, and traces the establishment of Anglo-Saxon kingdoms in the 5th and 6th centuries (conventionally identified as seven main kingdoms: Northumbria, Mercia, East Anglia, Essex, Kent, Sussex, and Wessex), their Christianisation during the 7th century, the threat of Viking invasions and Danish settlers, the gradual unification of England under Wessex hegemony during the 9th and 10th centuries, and ending with the Norman conquest of England by William the Conqueror in 1066.…show more content…
However after while these people (Anglo-Saxon) started the war against Briton. The fighting continued until around 500, when, at the Battle of Mount Badon, the Britons inflicted a severe defeat on the Anglo-Saxons. As a result of that they divided England into 7 different kingdoms. These kingdoms were: Sussex, Wessex, Essex, Northumberland, East Anglia, Mercia and…show more content…
Angel kingdoms were: Northumbria, Mercia, and East Anglia. Saxon kingdoms were: Essex, Sussex, and Wessex.

Kent, kingdom of Kent was founded, according to tradition, in the middle of the 5th century by two brothers of Jutish origin, Hengist and Horsa, who came to Britain to protect the native inhabitants against the Picts and Scots, turned against their paymasters, and won a kingdom for themselves.

The kingdom of Sussex was ruled by its own kings from the time of Ælle (c.477), who is said by Bede to have been the first overlord (bretwalda) of the southern English, to the end of the 8th century. This kingdom was in South Saxon.

Wessex, one of the kingdoms of Anglo-Saxon England, whose ruling dynasty eventually became kings of the whole country. In its permanent nucleus, its land approximated that of the modern counties of Hampshire, Dorset, Wiltshire, and Somerset. At times its land extended north of the River Thames, and it eventually expanded westward to cover Devon and Cornwall. The name Wessex is an elision of the Old English form of “West

More about Anglo Saxon Kingdoms

Open Document