The Respiratory And Circulatory System

1965 Words8 Pages
The four systems are the digestive system, the respiratory system, the circulatory system, lymphatic system and the urinary system. The digestive system is divided into two sections i.e. the alimentary canal this is about nine meters long which starts from the mouth and ends at the anus.
The second section is the accessory organs these are organs which assist with digestion, absorption and storage of food substances. This includes the pancreas, liver and the gall bladder.
Digestion is the process of digesting food it is a process in which the food is converted or broken down into a substance that can be absorbed and assimilated by living organisms in this case it is mammals. During this process the digestive system is involved mainly the digestive
…show more content…
The process of digestion happens every day as we eat food everyday so the body has to carry out this process of digestion in order for the food to be broken down into smaller molecules like carbohydrates, proteins, fats and vitamins. This is because nutrients in the food give the body cells the energy and substances they need to operate. The digestive system is the major system when it comes to digestion and absorption of nutrients. The digestive system has many parts which involves the digestive tract which is also known as the gastrointestinal (GI) tract, the liver, pancreas and the gallbladder. The GI tract is a long tube that is twisted in shape of hollow organs. The tube starts at the mouth and ends at the anus. The hollow organs of the GI tract involve the mouth, esophagus, stomach which involves the small intestine and large intestine also including the rectum and anus.
However, the digestive system involving the hollow organs is not only the system that plays a role in digesting the food. There is also the cardiovascular system that is involved in digestion and absorption of nutrients.
This is how the process of digestion and absorption of nutrients takes place the food enters
…show more content…
The lymphatic system is the system of the body’s tissues which are permeated by a network of capillaries which contain blood. Apart from leukocytes these sometimes leave the capillaries through fine walls which mean that the blood does not come into direct contact with the tissues and the fluid in which it is bathed is known as the tissue fluid. This means that from the tissue spaces the tissue fluid passes into the narrow vessels which are known as lymphatic vessels. This then unites to form channels that then rejoin the general circulation. This means that the name lymph is given to the tissue fluid when it enters the lymphatic vessels. This happens when the lymph passes through the lymphatic nodes i.e. the glands and their role is that it filters preventing the passage from any bacteria, tumor cells and damaged cells to enter the bloodstream. Also these nodes i.e. the glands are in different places within the body. The gland includes the cervical nodes which drain the head, neck and chest. Then there is the axillary nodes which drain the arm, the inguinal nodes

More about The Respiratory And Circulatory System

Open Document