The Five Tribes In The Indian Territory

155 Words1 Page
Oklahoma Territory focused on one single, unified, central government with a capital. Indian Territory held five different and independent republics. The Five Tribes in the Indian Territory each had a written constitution with a bicameral legislature, political parties, and courts similar to the Oklahoma Territory and United States. The Five Tribes in the Indian Territory were unique however, baring no relation to the Democratic and Republican parties held by the Oklahoma Territory. The Indian Territory did contain more democratic hopefuls than republicans, and these were non-Indians living in the Territory, preparing and hoping for it to one day become a state. Oklahoma territory was more equal ion Republican-Democratic ratio. The power often
Open Document