The Literary Canon?: The Examples Of Nathaniel Hawthorne

1186 Words5 Pages
What is the Literary Canon?
The Examples of Nathaniel Hawthorne

The term Literary Canon refers to a list of works that classify from literature which consider the most important works in a particular time period or place, not to works by a specific author. For instance, there can be a canon composed of works from a group of writings belong to a certain set of years or certain region, to the events are going, or even works written during a particular period of time. The author can be canonical figure, but that does not mean his works are canonical. Along these lines, the literary canon collects the similar or relate to literary works. Those who have ability to decide which piece of literature is canon -teachers, scholars, literary critics- often they have, to some extent, authority. The canonical statue is openness to change and challenge, especially with the authority alter; also, because the literature affected by the recent event, contemporary period and the author’s thoughts (wiseGEEK, 2016). What does make a literary piece a canon? Is there a standard of literary canon? “Studying how literature is created and testing claims for its place in the canon makes us better readers, more aware of the poets ' choices and the strategies guiding them” (, 2016). The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorn is a canon piece which we will analysed the reasons that make it a canonical.

The standard of literary canon works is re-established with every new
Open Document