The New York City Police Department (NYPD)

256 Words2 Pages
The New York City Police Department (NYPD) is in charge with protecting the city and diverse population of residents from crime by responding to emergency calls, investigating reported crimes, making arrests and addressing conditions that affect the quality of life. There are 76 precincts, 12 Transit Districts, 9 Housing Police Service Areas, and other specialized units throughout the five boroughs under the NYPD that protects life and deter crime in New York City.

Each of the city’s 76 police precincts is located within one of eight patrol boroughs, which include Manhattan South, Manhattan North, Bronx, Brooklyn North, Brooklyn South, Queens North, Queens South, and Staten Island. Patrol borough commanders oversee and supplement the law

More about The New York City Police Department (NYPD)

Open Document