The Power And Division Of Powers Of The Constitution

291 Words2 Pages
All 55 members of the Constitutional Convention met up in Philadelphia May 1787 trying to ratify the Articles of Confederation, but then formally decided to make a new constitution. The constitution would have a chief executive and a court system to create a strong central government piece by piece without having tyranny. A tyranny is described as harsh power in one individual. Although trying to make sure no one overpowers the country was a challenge,the delegates found a way for the constitution to protect against tyranny by having federalism, checks and balances and the division of powers. Federalism allows the states and the government to have equal amount of powers. An example for the government powers include declaring war, making immigration laws etc. On the other hand, powers given to the states are holding elections, establishing schools etc. Therefore the states and government don’t only have powers alone but they create powers together by making and enforcing different laws.…show more content…
For example, the legislative branch can impeach the president, the executive branch can nominate judges and lastly the judicial branch can declare laws unconstitutional. Hence, the jobs of the branches allow some control. Division of powers separates the branches so power would be detached and distinct. The result of the division are the legislative, executive and judicial branches. They all have a specific jobs to do. For example, the legislative powers are given to congress the executive powers are given to the president and the judicial powers are in the hands of the supreme court. Thus, separating powers helps control the government. So, by separating the amount of power throughout the government, it protects tyranny happenings in the
Open Document