The Proclamation Of 1812 Dbq

282 Words2 Pages
The Proclamation of 1812 The Proclamation of 1763, created by King George, was a line that prevented the colonists from settling to the west of the Appalachian Mountains. It also established 3 new mainland colonies: Quebec, West Florida, and East Florida. Georgia’s southern border was expanded, and soldiers who fought in the war were given land. Colonists already living across the border were forced to relocate to a legal location. Lastly, it prevented colonial leaders from buying the Natives’ land, and gave that right to the King. Parliament chose to pass this proclamation because of the events after the Seven Year War (French and Indian War). Native Americans were still fighting, despite the Treaty of Paris: Ottawa chief Pontiac
Get Access