The Three Circles In Dante's Inferno

344 Words2 Pages
In inferno, Dante divides Hell up into three major subdivisions based upon the type of sin committed, but two subdivisions that sit apart from the sinful divisions. Outside of Hell circles is the Vestibule, where the cowardly souls who refused to commit to either virtue or vice are punished. The First Circle is where those virtuous pagan souls who died unbaptized or who died prior to the coming of Christ reside. They can’t be saved, but neither are they truly punished in the same tortuous ways that Dante described as those deeper into Hell.
Sins of incontinence are punished in Circles Two through Five. According to Dante those sins are lust, gluttony, hoarding or squandering money, and the mirrored sins of anger and sloth.
The sins of violence

More about The Three Circles In Dante's Inferno

Open Document