Thirteen Colonies Characteristics

526 Words3 Pages
The Thirteen Colonies were a group of British colonies that declared independence. They formed the United States in 1776. The colonies consisted of: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Conneticut, Massachusetts Bay, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island. The New England Colonies included, New Hampshire, Massachusetts Bay, Rhode Island, and Conneticut. All of these colonies (with the exception of New Hampshire which was goverened as a royal colony) were founded as refuge for all sorts of different religious groups. All of the colonies were founded in the 17th century. Some of the main economic activities included, fishing, logging, and whaling. Geographical features…show more content…
The middle colonies were made up of many different religions making it hard for one religion to be dominant. The New York and New Jersey colonies were both royal colonies while Pennsylvania and Delaware were both proprietary governments. The middle colonies mostly grew wheat and had flour mills where wheat was turned into flour and shipped to England. They also made iron ore products like plows, tools, kettles, nails, and large blocks of iron which were shipped to England also. Settlement patterns usually included single family farms. They had land easy to farm on and grow things. some natural recources were, timber, fur, coal, and good farm land. The middle colonies had pretty good relationships with the natives (mostly Irquois). Importan people in the middle colonies included, Peter Stuyversant, William penn, Henry Hudson, Richard Nicolis, and Philip Carteret. They learned mostly about skills and usfull things for education. The middle colonies had indentured servants and slaves. They had five different classes. The upper class, the middle class, the lower classes and poor whites, the indentured servants and convicts, and the
Open Document