What Is The Difference Between The Articles Of Confederation And Perpetual Union

355 Words2 Pages
The Articles of Confederation and Perpetual Union, otherwise known as The Articles of Confederation, were an agreement between all of the thirteen colonies that served as the first constitution. A committee appointed by the Second Continental Congress drafted the Articles in July of 1776, a few days after the drafting of the Declaration of Independence. It was then sent to the colonies for ratification in late 1777. Ratification by 13 colonies was completed in 1781. Even when they weren’t ratified the Articles provided a system in which the Continental Congress used to direct the Revolution, conduct diplomacy with England, and deal with the Natives. After the ratification occurred the Second Continental Congress became known as the Congress
Open Document