Intolerable Acts Dbq

295 Words2 Pages

The Intolerable Acts were five laws that were passed by the British Parliament against the American Colonies in 1774. They were given the name "Intolerable Acts" by American Patriots who felt they simply could not "tolerate" such unfair laws.The British passed these acts as punishment for the Boston Tea Party.The Intolerable Acts (also called the Coercive Acts) were harsh laws passed by the British Parliament in 1774. They were meant to punish the American colonists for the Boston Tea Party and other protests. Like the Stamp Act and the Townshend Acts, the Intolerable Acts pushed the Colonists toward war with Great Britain. In 1767 Parliament passed the Townshend Acts. One of those acts required Colonists to pay a tax on tea. In 1773 Parliament

Show More
Open Document