History Of The Haudenosaunee Confederacy

406 Words2 Pages

The haudenosaunee or people of the longhouse known as the Six nations or the Iroquois, they are members of the confederacy of Aboriginal nations known as the Haudenosaunee Confederacy. When the tuscarora joined the confederacy early in the 18th century, it mostly known as the Six nations.

The Haudenosaunee speak Iroquoian languages, The Iroquoian language group comprises over ten languages (comprises means they made it up.) including Cayuga, Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Tuscarora and Seneca. Cherokee is also an Iroquoian language, Though the Cherokee are not part of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy.

The five iroquois nations, calling themselves as the people of the longhouse before it was only five nations and they are called Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga and Seneca and then Tuscarora joined in the year of 1722, The confederacy became to the English as the …show more content…

The founding of constitution of the Confederacy brought the Cayuga, Mohawk, Onondaga, Oneida, and Seneca.

Among the Haudenosaunee the Six Nations comprising the Mohawk, Onondaga, Oneida, Cayuga, Seneca, and Tuscarora peoples The Great Law of Peace is the oral constitution of the Iroquois Confederacy The laws called a constitution are divided into 117 articles.

The Haudenosaunee Grand Council of Chiefs, also known as the Iroquois League Council or Six Nations Confederacy Council, is the central government of the Iroquois Confederacy. The Grand Council of Chiefs is composed of fifty Chiefs representing the Five (and later Six) Nations of the Iroquois Confederacy.

Originally a confederacy of five nations inhabiting the northern part of New York state, the Haudenosaunee consisted of the Seneca, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga and Mohawk. When the Tuscarora joined the confederacy early in the 18th century, it became known as the Six

Open Document