Anti Discrimination In Texas

1035 Words5 Pages

Discrimination Laws for the State of Texas
Texas Labor Code Anti-Discrimination Provisions
Texas has its own laws for employment discrimination but employers who abide by the federal statute will be safe under the Texas state law as well. The reason for this is that the Texas Labor Code Anti-Discrimination Provisions are parallel with the Federal Discrimination guidelines. However, there is a trend throughout cities and counties with America that allow these local municipalities to have their own ordinances. In Texas, local government can and sometimes do establish their own anti-discrimination rules. In the city of Austin, several city ordinances make it unlawful to deny access to public accommodation or discriminate in employment on the basis …show more content…

What this amendment stated was that the minimum wage rate for the state of Texas was to be set to the same level as the national minimum wage rate. Another provision with this law permits an automatic increase in the pay wage when the federal rate increases. Because of the Texas minimum wage law, employers are also bound to give the employees a wage statement with every payment or paycheck. The wage statement must clearly explain how many hours an individual has worked and how much he or she has earned by the hour (Fox & Davenport, 2013). This law aims to ensure that regardless of the pay range of any employee they are treated equally. The Department of Labor uses various methods to ensure that companies are in compliance such as investigators. When any violations are found, they make recommendations to employers. If any of the organization willfully violates the laws then they are criminally prosecuted and can be charged a fine $10,000 or above. If organization is convicted a second time then it results in imprisonment. If the employers repeatedly or deliberately violate the overtime pay requirements or law of minimum wage then they are subject to civil money penalties of approximately $1,100 per …show more content…

A claim for unemployment benefits should be made at the TEC office within two weeks of the termination and during each subsequent two week period. The TEC will make an initial determination as to whether the person is eligible for benefits. If eligible, the TEC informs the former employer, because the former employer pays the benefits, the employer as the right to some of the information given by the former employee to the TEC and has an opportunity to present information. To be eligible to receive unemployment benefits, the employee must have worked for the employer for a certain length of time and must have made a certain amount of money in wages. The time period is called a base period, and it is based on the calendar quarter system. Eligible employees must have made a minimum amount of money during the most recent prior benefit year. To collect unemployment benefits, a person also must make a reasonable effort to find work during the period of unemployment. Not everyone who leaves a job is eligible to receive unemployment benefits. An applicant may not receive benefits if the

Open Document