Secondly, there are secondary laws that only allow police to issue a seatbelt citation when another traffic violation has committed. II. Another problem is law enforcement is now linking not wearing a seatbelt to other crime acts. A. A 2012 journal called Buckle up: non-seat belt use and antisocial behavior in the United States by Michael G. Vaughn, Christopher P. Salas-Wright, and Alex R. Piquero did a study and “individuals reporting that they never wear a seat belt while driving or as a passenger are more likely to report using alcohol and
The fourth step you are told to follow if involved in a crash is to contact the police. If your crash results in any injury, death, or at least a total damage of $1,500 you must notify the police or a highway patrol as soon as possible. This rule applies to any crash whether or not there is another vehicle involved. The last step or rule requested to follow if you are in a crash is to exchange your information. There is some of your information you are told not to give for many reasons.
Funerals for those who died in a related crash would cost a tremendous amount of money as well. Finances would be incredibly more manageable with laws against using cell phones while driving. Ultimately, interaction with cellular devices while driving should be banned. Directing the car to the side of the road and parking would decrease any dangerous risks involved. Lives are at risk when it comes to a driver simply replying to a text message.
Currently, there is no national ban on texting or using a wireless phone while driving. However, a number of states have passed laws banning texting or using wireless phones. Some states require the use of hands-free wireless phones while driving. In California, the maximum penalty for a first-time offender is just $20, the lowest in the country; while Alaska will strike you with a whopping $10,000 fine and a year imprisonment. Californians barely even have an incentive to not text and drive, but in Alaska, people will kick the habit if they have to pay a gigantic fine and spend time in jail.
5. Is there any fine for passing a stopped school bus? Yes, there is definitely fines for passing a stopped school bus. And it varies from one state to state. Usual punishments include a fine ranging from $100 to $1000, taking away certain points from license, seize the convict for a few months imprisonment, and a few months suspension of the driving
In a split second from looking at her phone, she had clipped the median of the road and her car started to roll, which is when she was ejected 300 feet from the car. For this young lady, her life ended because she was texting while driving, but she could have easily been putting on makeup, opening a soda, or even talking to a passenger and still have been in that fatal car crash. AT&T and many other cell phone companies are putting information out there so people know the dangers of being distracted while driving. States need to start making aware the dangers that come from distracted driving and the effects that it can have on not only the driver but everyone on the road. Having a mandatory class for new drivers about the dangers of distracted driving could possibly help reduce the statistics of
Often, schools will not hire a bus driver if his driving record is not clean for safety reasons. Many bus drivers who find themselves facing a DWI conviction wonder whether they will also lose their regular driver’s license. In many cases, that is not likely to happen. Assuming the bus driver’s BAC was under 0.08 at the time of the arrest, he would most likely be able to keep his regular license. If his BAC was at 0.08 or over, penalties regarding a regular DWI are likely to be enforced – in which case, the driver may very well lose his regular license.
At 55 mph 4.6 seconds is the length of a football field. Although there are many problems and issues with texting and driving, there are few solutions and tips to help prevent it. One solution is to place a phone out of reach of the driver. By doing this, it makes sure that the driver can not get to the phone while driving to prevent the urge to text and drive. If a driver were to turn a phone off, it could almost eliminate the problem completely.
(driving under influence). When a person’s BAC (blood alcohol content) is over 0.08, this it is considered not safe to drive. Drivers who are drunk aren’t as focused on the road and are prone to causing more accidents. Laws should be harsher for drunk driving to decrease the number of innocent people getting killed annually. According to the US Department of Transportation, the vast majority of drivers with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of over 0.08 or above are unimpaired.