Colonial Americ The Different Regions Of Colonial American Colonies

638 Words3 Pages

Regions in Colonial America As English colonies emerged along the Atlantic Coast, the colonies developed differently based on the unique circumstances and characteristics of the land the settlers colonized. Three distinct regions developed among the thirteen colonies that differed from each other in respect to culture, economic system, political practices, and social structure. The three distinct regions were New England, the Middle Colonies, and the Southern Colonies. The New England region was built on Puritan culture with an economy that relied on the Triangle Trade to establish a political and social structure. The New England region includes present day Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. Puritans originally settled in the region and brought with them their culture; Puritans were happy with their English heritage …show more content…

The Middle Colonies include present day New York, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and New Jersey. Culturally, the Middle Colonies were the most diverse of the three regions due to the arrival of immigrants from many different areas of Europe all with different religious devotions. The majority of the Middle Colonies engaged in agriculture for a living and large estates were more common in these colonies. Colonists in this region also desired manufactured goods like the ones in England, resulting in the development of Triangle Trade. Like the New England region, the aristocracy was composed of successful merchants and wealthy landowners. The aristocracy did not fluctuate in the Middle Colonies because wealth was based on land rather than trade, a more reliable source of income. Certain wealthy merchants and landowners formed oligarchies that controlled the politics. Male property owners elected representative like they did in the New England

Open Document